RSS Feed

Super Cute Fabric Dollhouse Tutorial

Super Cute Fabric Dollhouse Tutorial

 

My daughter and I were reading a childrens book called “Mommy loves me”, and on one of the pages, the little child is playing with a fabric dollhouse with rooms and little rabbit figurines.  Clover, my 3 1/2 year old daughter says to me, ” Mommy, do you think that I could get one of those?” as she points to the fabric dollhouse.  I thought, hmmmmm… and I tell her, I am not sure.  Let me see what I can find on the internet.  Well… I could have bought her one from some website, Etsy sells a few or I could have got a used one on eBay, OR I could make her one myself.  I obviously chose the latter.  I actually found my tutorial online and that is how I made Clover’s doll house.  This is the awesome blog that I used: http://uklassinus.blogspot.com/2008/08/fabric-dollhouse-tutorial.html

I have added a few extra tips but I also used some of her patterns- I am not techy enough to make these great outlines on the computer.

I am sharing it with you now in hopes that you can make one for your little love in your life.  Clover just absolutely LOVES this little dollhouse and it was very fun to make!  Enjoy!

 

Materials:

Fabric for the interior: 9 inches by 21 inches and two pieces 6 inches by 9 inches

Fabric for the exterior: 9″ x 21″ and two pieces 6″ x 9″

 2 10.5″x 13.5″ sheets of plastic canvas (I used #10 mesh, but because the store I went to was sold out of anymore #10, I bought extra canvas pieces of #7.  That should work fine as well.)

Batting- enough to cover all the pieces of plastic canvas.  So not much.
Duct tape- this holds the batting on the plastic canvas.
Buttons and elastic cord, tiny hair bands or velcro.  After making mine with elastic cord and buttons, I thought I should have done velcro, because my daughter is having a hard time opening and closing with the buttons and elastic cord.
Fabric strips for the handle.  I used a fabric head band that I had in my craft box for when Clover was a baby ( I made her several head bands).  I just cut it in half and it worked perfect.
Start by cutting out the plastic canvas.
……….three 4″ by 6″ rectangles
……….two 2¾” by 6″ rectangles
……….and 2 house-shaped pieces with 4″ base, 4″ sides and 2¾” roof (see diagram)
The pieces should fit together like this:
Wrap the batting around the plastic canvas and then use the duck tape to hold it in place.
Next put your 6″x9″ fabrics right sides together, but place the house shaped canvas piece in between the fabric pieces. Pin down the sides, and I used a fabric marker to make the lines of the outside of the house.  You want the pieces to fit nice and snug in the fabric.
Once pinned, remove the plastic canvas from the fabric and sew where your fabric pen marks are around the house shaped piece.  Leave the bottom OPEN.  Do this to both pieces.  Once sewn, turn the fabric right side out and put the plastic canvas piece back in the fabric.
So now you have two end panels that look like this.
If you want to add any extra stuff to the larger fabrics this is the time to do it.  My daughter is a picker and if I don’t have the applique’s SEWN on, they WILL be picked off.  So I had to sew my extras on my fabric.  I got some really cute felt flowers, some glittery felt and different colored felt.  I made some windows, flowers and a glittery heart and sewed them on the right side of the fabrics.  Make sure that you align your plastic canvas pieces correctly on the fabric so you sew on your flowers and any extra things on the right spots.  You don’t want your window on the bottom of the house- you want it on the side of the house or front of the house.  So just align correctly.
Using the 9″ x 21″ pieces, place the fabric right sides facing. The following should then be sandwiched between the fabrics, so that their edges / ends will be caught when you sew along the side edge of the fabrics:
……….one of the end panels ( house looking piece)
……….elastic loops (or flap for velcro or zip or ribbons for ties at both ends – whichever you chose)  I have to say, those elastic loops are a PAIN to sew down.  Mine did not want to stay attached to the fabric.  It seemed like my stitches went right around it but would not secure the elastic band on the fabric.  So make sure you stitch over it A LOT with your sewing machine!  I did straight stitch and zigzag over and over and over again because they kept coming off.  And if you are making this for a little person, they are ROUGH with their toys and you want this little house to be durable :)
………one of the handles
Sew from line A-B, then C-D.
Next add the other end panel ( house shaped canvas piece) to the other side of the rectangle and the other elastic loops.  And sew down the long side of the rectangle.
Turn right side OUT.
Next start putting in your plastic batting pieces.  They should go in like this diagram-
Put a pin between each piece to hold it in place.  Turn the OPENED end over, and pin.  While doing this, add the other handle and elastic loop.  Sew the end closed.  The handle and the elastic loop should be secured now.
Next sew a few inches between each piece to hold it in place- I guess you could sew all the way across if you wanted. It is your preference.
Hand sew the edge of the end panel to the wall and roof panel on each side, so that it forms this shape:
Then sew on your buttons to match up with your elastic loops.  Clip your threads…and you are done!!
About lovegracemercy

You should know this is my very first blog and I have no idea what I am doing- so this should be interesting :) So now I am supposed to tell you about myself: First and foremost, I love Jesus and I am blessed to be a child of God. I am also a wife, to a godly, handsome and wonderful man. I have two beautiful children, Clover Grace and Valor Grey that I am blessed to stay at home with. I am unique in my fashion and in what I sew and design. I absolutely love little children vintage designs. Color, lace, cotton and knits are what you will find in my sewing closet (that I have to share with the family jackets and umbrellas). I have been sewing for many, many years...even though I am only 30. I was blessed to have my beautiful, abnegation mother teach me how to sew. My first project was a peasant blouse, ( that I still have in my closet) from a Vogue pattern. Since then, I have made several duvet covers, pillows, valances, pillowcases, dresses, baby bumpers, bedskirts, bloomers, pantaloons, mens dress shirts, pants, shirts, pretty much everything!! Although there is so much more to share, I am sure you are bored with reading the "about yourself" section on my blog. I hope to post some new designs, old designs, instructions on how to sew with out patterns and step by step with pictures on current projects.

3 responses »

  1. Oh wow, that is the cutest thing ever! You’re very talented :)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Stacy Sews - Diary of a Fabric Junkie » Blog Archive » Linky Thursday

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

