DIY Oven Mitts and Pot Holders Tutorial

I had NO ideas for gifts for Mothers Day- I don’t like to give gifts that get tossed away or thrown on a shelf.  I wanted these beautiful ladies to have something they could use.  I also feel that oven mitts and pot holders are so boring to buy…so I made several oven mitts and pot holders that have lots of colors and fun designs.

If you have a lot of scrapped material, you can make these basically for free!  All this material I had came from my sewing room- besides the insul-brite, and the extra wide bias tape.

I found this super blog- and used it to make these awesome presents!  For the pot holders I quilted a heart into each one- not sure you can see it in the pictures.

http://www.youcanmakethis.com/products/free/Free-Make-an-Oven-Mitt.htm

 

 

About lovegracemercy

You should know this is my very first blog and I have no idea what I am doing- so this should be interesting :) So now I am supposed to tell you about myself: First and foremost, I love Jesus and I am blessed to be a child of God. I am also a wife, to a godly, handsome and wonderful man. I have two beautiful children, Clover Grace and Valor Grey that I am blessed to stay at home with. I am unique in my fashion and in what I sew and design. I absolutely love little children vintage designs. Color, lace, cotton and knits are what you will find in my sewing closet (that I have to share with the family jackets and umbrellas). I have been sewing for many, many years...even though I am only 30. I was blessed to have my beautiful, abnegation mother teach me how to sew. My first project was a peasant blouse, ( that I still have in my closet) from a Vogue pattern. Since then, I have made several duvet covers, pillows, valances, pillowcases, dresses, baby bumpers, bedskirts, bloomers, pantaloons, mens dress shirts, pants, shirts, pretty much everything!! Although there is so much more to share, I am sure you are bored with reading the "about yourself" section on my blog. I hope to post some new designs, old designs, instructions on how to sew with out patterns and step by step with pictures on current projects.

Leave a comment