RSS Feed

Vintage toddler overall

Both my kids are asleep- so that means ME time! I am expecting Valor to wake up any minute, so I must hurry!

This is my first little boy outfit that I am making- its a super cute overall. I usually make little girl clothes because I love lace and ruffles… but I have a little boy now and I need to show him some love 🙂 The pattern is totally Vintage-50’s I think.  I like Simplicity patterns- because they are simple and because my super sewing mom said they are great!

I am using a really soft cotton/knit blend and it has two sides to it.

First things first- you need to look at the instructions and see what pieces you need for the project you are making.  Patterns have several different patterns in one packet.  This one in particular has short sleeve shirt, long sleeve shirt, long overall and short overall.  I am making the short overall- so I only need, I think 5 pieces.

So you need to cut out those pieces and lay them out on the fabric.  Making the most out of the fabric that you have.  You don’t want to have a lot of wasted fabric.  Once laid out on the fabric, you need to pin the pattern to the fabric.  You pin the fabric to the pattern so the fabric doesn’t move.  You need to be sure to cut accurately or you will have trouble matching sides and your overalls may not be perfectly even.

Once pinned, you cut out the pieces.  Don’t let all the markings on the pattern get your discouraged or frustrated.  They are actually pretty simple and if you have questions about a pattern, let me know and I will do what I can to assist you 🙂  The markings are important, so make sure you mark them once cut.

Because I had a 3 year old helping me… sometimes you will get a ripped pattern piece such as this. Just tape it back together as best as you can.

Before removing the pattern piece from the fabric, you need to mark the dots that are on the pattern piece to the fabric.  I use a fabric pen for my markings.  I used to use the spikey roller with the colored paper- but I just don’t like that, so I just recently bought this new fabric pen. I like it so far. It has disappearing ink and a rub off ink, so it won’t ruin or stain your fabric.  Like I said before, the markings are important- they tell you where to put pockets, and where sleeves should be placed so they are centered and lots of other things.  I have skipped making the marks before, and it just is easier to do them while you have the pattern piece out. Makes for an easier sewing project.

Cutting, pinning and marking this pattern took me about 45 minutes.  Not too bad.  I will be posting soon about how to sew the fabric together and eventually get a hopefully super cute, original pair of overalls!

 

About lovegracemercy

You should know this is my very first blog and I have no idea what I am doing- so this should be interesting :) So now I am supposed to tell you about myself: First and foremost, I love Jesus and I am blessed to be a child of God. I am also a wife, to a godly, handsome and wonderful man. I have two beautiful children, Clover Grace and Valor Grey that I am blessed to stay at home with. I am unique in my fashion and in what I sew and design. I absolutely love little children vintage designs. Color, lace, cotton and knits are what you will find in my sewing closet (that I have to share with the family jackets and umbrellas). I have been sewing for many, many years...even though I am only 30. I was blessed to have my beautiful, abnegation mother teach me how to sew. My first project was a peasant blouse, ( that I still have in my closet) from a Vogue pattern. Since then, I have made several duvet covers, pillows, valances, pillowcases, dresses, baby bumpers, bedskirts, bloomers, pantaloons, mens dress shirts, pants, shirts, pretty much everything!! Although there is so much more to share, I am sure you are bored with reading the "about yourself" section on my blog. I hope to post some new designs, old designs, instructions on how to sew with out patterns and step by step with pictures on current projects.

4 responses »

  1. I love it! I still have the vintage pattern from Jane’s train hats that I want to make an overall jumper for her… let’s have a sewing party 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ok, so I just bought my first toddler dress pattern on etsy. Very excited! Getting Material tomorrow 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

