RSS Feed

Vintage Toddler Overall Part 2

Once dinner was all cleaned up and the kids were tucked into bed- I got to sewing my new overalls!  I am not going to show step by step on the directions because every pattern is different.  You will need to follow directions according to your specific pattern.

I sewed the front and back hems first.  Most of the time you will always sew with right sides together.

Next is the pocket.  The marks that were made on the fabric when cutting the pattern will come in handy when placing the pocket on the overalls.  Pin the pocket and then sew it on the overall.

Next is the suspender strap.  You are going to sew the strap right sides together.  And then trim the hem to about 1/4 inch, leaving the slanted end open so you can pull the strap through so the nice side is on the outside.

After turning the strap right side out- press.  Pressing is very important, it makes the edges crisp and look neat.

THIS IS THE WRONG way to pin.  I made the mistake and I will show you why it is wrong in the next picture.  The raw edges should be matching.

if you look closely, you will see the frayed part of the suspender peaking through- that is a NO NO!  When that happens, you need your handy dandy seam ripper- I wish I didn’t have to use it as often as I do- keep one handy when you sew!

Now this is the right way to have sewn on the suspender strap 🙂

When you come across a point- you must have something that will help the point get pointy.  It makes the piece look much neater, nicer and well just better.  This is a dress making edge.  If you don’t have one of these- you can use anything pointy and small, but not too pointy because you do not want to make a hole in the fabric. ( which I have done too many times until I got my Grandma’s dress making pointer thing).

Please DO NOT look at my nasty ironing board cover- I need to make myself one!  So we are now hemming the shorts.  So folding over 1/4 inch and pressing, and folding over another 1/4 inch and pressing again. Then sew the hem is the drill. PRESSING the hem is a MUST!!  It makes the hem crisp and beautiful.

My wonderful mother gave me this little mini ruler- it totally helps with knowing how big your hem is.  It is nice to have to know when you are going overboard.  We want 1/4 inch hem, not 1″.  And that is easy to do- believe me.  So use a nifty ruler and keep your hem even!

Now we have completed the overall for the most part.  I need to add a few buttons and a zipper for the back and that is it!!

This is the back. SOO CUTE!

Now all I need is a cute, chunky, hunky baby to put in it!!

About lovegracemercy

You should know this is my very first blog and I have no idea what I am doing- so this should be interesting :) So now I am supposed to tell you about myself: First and foremost, I love Jesus and I am blessed to be a child of God. I am also a wife, to a godly, handsome and wonderful man. I have two beautiful children, Clover Grace and Valor Grey that I am blessed to stay at home with. I am unique in my fashion and in what I sew and design. I absolutely love little children vintage designs. Color, lace, cotton and knits are what you will find in my sewing closet (that I have to share with the family jackets and umbrellas). I have been sewing for many, many years...even though I am only 30. I was blessed to have my beautiful, abnegation mother teach me how to sew. My first project was a peasant blouse, ( that I still have in my closet) from a Vogue pattern. Since then, I have made several duvet covers, pillows, valances, pillowcases, dresses, baby bumpers, bedskirts, bloomers, pantaloons, mens dress shirts, pants, shirts, pretty much everything!! Although there is so much more to share, I am sure you are bored with reading the "about yourself" section on my blog. I hope to post some new designs, old designs, instructions on how to sew with out patterns and step by step with pictures on current projects.

2 responses »

  1. I love it! Great job! Haha and I too have sewn straps on the wrong way 🙂

    Reply
  2. These are so cute! I have a sewing machine that I have never used this just might encourage me to pull it out! I have been wanting to make Andrea some clothes for some time now. Time! Ha! Something mommy’s never seem to have enough of!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

