RSS Feed

Reusable velcro snack baggies- Tutorial!! Go Green or Go Home…

Reusable velcro snack baggies- Tutorial!! Go Green or Go Home…

So today, I am going to be showing you how to make the reusable snack baggies.  My sister wanted me to me some for her son, my nephew.  He is in 2nd grade and they will come in very handy during his days at school- that is if he brings them home instead of “accidentally” throwing them away!

This tutorial is to make a bag that is 5″x6″.  If you want a different size look here:

Sandwich (7″x8″ finished size): cut 16″ x 9″
Snack (5″x6″ finished size): cut 12″ x 7″
Mini (4″x4″ finished size): cut 5″ x 10″

 

Start out with cutting your material- I cut mine in rectangles and then made little slits on the bottom of the nylon rip stop lining- if you don’t want to make the slits, cut your lining in half after you make your rectangles- cut in half the wide way, not the long way.

Next, cut your velcro a little smaller than the size of your fabric/lining.  Pin the velcro on the lining. Making sure they are even on both sides of the lining, because you want your velcro to line up so it closes correctly. Then sew- all the way around the velcro- back stitch at the start and finish to secure the stitch.

Cut your slit at the bottom of the rectangle about 2 inches- make the slit long enough to  pull fabric through when finishing the bag.  Once, slit is cut, put the velcro together, and sew along the sides and to the beginning of the slit, back stitch at the stop and finish again to secure stitch. Start sewing again on the other side of the slit to the top of the bag.

 

You will do the same thing with the cotton material.  Place right sides together- sew from the top of the bag all the way down the side, across the bottom and then back up- do not sew the top closed.

You should now have two squares.  Take the lining and turn it right side out. Use your awl and use that to make the corners nice and pointy.

 

Place the lining into the bag.  Right side of lining to right side of bag.

Pin side seams. ( after making a couple of bags, I stopped pinning the side seams and just sewed them to save time.)

The bag should be something like this- the outside of the bag should be showing.

Next, pull your cotton fabric through the hole you made in the lining earlier. The bigger the hole, the easier it is.  You are going to sew all the way across in a few steps- so make it bigger.  The one in this pic was too small- not too small to pull fabric through, but I ended up making the slits A LOT bigger after this first one.   Use the awl to make the corners look nice and pointy.

Time to finish the bottom of the lining.  Turn under the open slit and sew across the bottom of the lining.  Make it about 1/8″ seam.  Then put the lining inside the bag- get the lining all the way inside the bag- next we will top stitch the bag to give it a nice finished look!

 

FINISHED!!!

 

 

About lovegracemercy

You should know this is my very first blog and I have no idea what I am doing- so this should be interesting :) So now I am supposed to tell you about myself: First and foremost, I love Jesus and I am blessed to be a child of God. I am also a wife, to a godly, handsome and wonderful man. I have two beautiful children, Clover Grace and Valor Grey that I am blessed to stay at home with. I am unique in my fashion and in what I sew and design. I absolutely love little children vintage designs. Color, lace, cotton and knits are what you will find in my sewing closet (that I have to share with the family jackets and umbrellas). I have been sewing for many, many years...even though I am only 30. I was blessed to have my beautiful, abnegation mother teach me how to sew. My first project was a peasant blouse, ( that I still have in my closet) from a Vogue pattern. Since then, I have made several duvet covers, pillows, valances, pillowcases, dresses, baby bumpers, bedskirts, bloomers, pantaloons, mens dress shirts, pants, shirts, pretty much everything!! Although there is so much more to share, I am sure you are bored with reading the "about yourself" section on my blog. I hope to post some new designs, old designs, instructions on how to sew with out patterns and step by step with pictures on current projects.

Leave a Reply

