RSS Feed

The 17 Minute Produce Bag Tutorial! Go Green or Go Home!

The 17 Minute Produce Bag Tutorial!  Go Green or Go Home!

My sister asked me if I could make her reusable sandwich bags, produce bags, and utensil holders- I said TOTALLY!!  She bought me all the fabric I needed to get her GO GREEN set together-

 

This is the tutorial for the produce bag.  These are awesome to use when you go into Whole Foods, farmers markets, or any other grocery store where you pick up your produce-

You are going to start by cutting your fabric-  the bags that I made were used with 18″x22″ fabric.  You can make your bag any size you want- smaller or bigger.

Take the LONGER side of your fabric and press the two sides over about 1/4″ inch and only about 2″ long.

Then sew that 2″ crease in the middle- from top of bag to the end of the 2 inch crease.

 

Next, press the top of the LONG side over about 1/4″, then press again on the same LONG side over about 3/4″.  It can be smaller or bigger, depending on what you are going to use for your drawstring.  What you are doing here will be what you put your drawstring through- to make it big enough to get the string in easy. Then sew from the bottom of that 3/4″press from side to side.

Then take the two sides and put them together- right sides together.  Sew from the bottom of your drawstring opening to the bottom of the bag.  I made the seam about 1/2″.  You do not want to sew closed the opening for the drawstring.  Backstitch the beginning and the end to secure your stitch.  If you want to prevent fraying, zig zag stitch after you have sewn your straight stitch.  Or use your serger- I don’t have a serger.

 

Next, sew the bottom of the bag.  The same way you did the side.   Sew it at 1/2″ seam.

Square off the bottom of the bag- you can measure it or you can eyeball it.  I made mine the seam about 1 1/2″ from the point of the bag to the seam.  Do the same to the other side.  Then cut off your end pieces- this is going to make your bag have a rectangular bottom to it.

Next, to really get the top of the bag secure for the drawstring- use your sewing machine and go over the bottom of the opening a few times- forward and backward to really make it a strong connection.

 

Whatever you are using for your drawstring- put a large safety pin on your string and use that to go through your bag!  Tie the ends together in a knot- and VOILA! You are done!!

 

Thanks to my lovely sister for telling me to make her these awesome bags!! Otherwise, I would have never made these Go Green or Go Home tutorials!!

About lovegracemercy

You should know this is my very first blog and I have no idea what I am doing- so this should be interesting :) So now I am supposed to tell you about myself: First and foremost, I love Jesus and I am blessed to be a child of God. I am also a wife, to a godly, handsome and wonderful man. I have two beautiful children, Clover Grace and Valor Grey that I am blessed to stay at home with. I am unique in my fashion and in what I sew and design. I absolutely love little children vintage designs. Color, lace, cotton and knits are what you will find in my sewing closet (that I have to share with the family jackets and umbrellas). I have been sewing for many, many years...even though I am only 30. I was blessed to have my beautiful, abnegation mother teach me how to sew. My first project was a peasant blouse, ( that I still have in my closet) from a Vogue pattern. Since then, I have made several duvet covers, pillows, valances, pillowcases, dresses, baby bumpers, bedskirts, bloomers, pantaloons, mens dress shirts, pants, shirts, pretty much everything!! Although there is so much more to share, I am sure you are bored with reading the "about yourself" section on my blog. I hope to post some new designs, old designs, instructions on how to sew with out patterns and step by step with pictures on current projects.

Leave a Reply

