Pinterest PVC Fort Cover Basic Tutorial

Pinterest PVC Fort Cover Basic Tutorial

Good morning!! It has been weeks since I have posted anything- sorry to have kept you all anxiously waiting 😉 ( in reality I am sure no one is anxiously waiting- that was my way of being funny… haha.)

Anywho… my husband and I finally printed out the tutorial for the PVC Fort that is all over Pinterest.  We went to Home Depot and got all necessary parts, except for the 1″ slip side outlet elbow piece.  I had to got to another hardware store for those- the cost for all the pieces for the PVC fort was about 50 dollars… It was a little more than I was expecting, but I really wanted to put this together for the kids.

It was pretty simple to put together- I even did it with out my husband!  The fort is actually really BIG!!  I had to rearrange the whole playroom to make it fit, and it still is just a little too big for our play room, but it is going to stay considering we paid for it and I just made the cover for it.

So with all that being said, I have a very basic guide to making a cover for your PVC Fort… although it is NOT perfect, it looks neater than just sheets being hung over the top.  I was actually a little embarrassed to post this- because it isn’t perfect, and the colors I am not in love with- I am more of a BRIGHT & COLORFUL decorator.  BUT… I did not want to buy any fabric, because my grandma just gave me a whole bunch of old linens.  So I decided to use what I had in the sewing closet- AND… I wanted this house to be used by my daughter and my son- so I couldn’t get all frilly and lacy with it 🙂

 

I have to warn you that the very front of the playhouse panel, the one with the door on it… was not cut properly.  I am a believer in ripping material- for the most part, ripping the material creates a straight line VERY quickly… BUT if you have a cheap material, sometimes the ripping going awry… and I think that is what happened with the white panel.  I will have to sew some extra material on to that panel at some point- and when I do, I think that the cover will fit properly… I will not be fixing this anytime soon. haha. It is good enough for me at this point.

So what you see is what you get.  For the most part the measurements are pretty accurate- the reason it looks off a bit is because of the front panel.  My roof is also a little BIG… so you may want to remeasure your roof.

ROOF: 39″ x 55″ you will need 2 pieces with that measurement

Triangles to the roof: 39″x55″ this is a rectangle piece- but one you have the piece fold your material to make a square an then cut to make a triangle. ( I hope that makes sense )

Sides: 55″x55″ you will need 4

You can make your cover as simple or as elaborate as you like.

I added a door- I used an old VERY LARGE Pillowcase- I just sewed that on to the front panel.  I cut the top and the side of the door so that it can open.  I used velcro to keep the door closed.

I created a window in the door. I used TULLE for a screen ( I thought that was a pretty cool idea ) than I outlined the window with some extra ribbon I had.

The window on the side has ruffle on the top, tulle for the screen again and then I had some extra rick rack that I used to border the window.

For the front of the house as a trim- I used an old bed skirt that I had.

 

Sew the two roof panels together.

Next, sew the triangles to the roof panels- start by pinning one side ( short side)  of the triangle to the roof panel, then pin the other short side of the triangle to the other side of the roof panel, do this to both sides of the roof. Then sew.  Make sure it fits on your fort before proceeding.  If it fits than go ahead and start sewing your side panels to the roof.

If you are making windows and such, do this before you sew to the roof.

I hope this helps you make your own cover for your PVC fort!!

Don’t judge my imperfect cover or my very blase’ colors 🙂 haha

About lovegracemercy

You should know this is my very first blog and I have no idea what I am doing- so this should be interesting :) So now I am supposed to tell you about myself: First and foremost, I love Jesus and I am blessed to be a child of God. I am also a wife, to a godly, handsome and wonderful man. I have two beautiful children, Clover Grace and Valor Grey that I am blessed to stay at home with. I am unique in my fashion and in what I sew and design. I absolutely love little children vintage designs. Color, lace, cotton and knits are what you will find in my sewing closet (that I have to share with the family jackets and umbrellas). I have been sewing for many, many years...even though I am only 30. I was blessed to have my beautiful, abnegation mother teach me how to sew. My first project was a peasant blouse, ( that I still have in my closet) from a Vogue pattern. Since then, I have made several duvet covers, pillows, valances, pillowcases, dresses, baby bumpers, bedskirts, bloomers, pantaloons, mens dress shirts, pants, shirts, pretty much everything!! Although there is so much more to share, I am sure you are bored with reading the "about yourself" section on my blog. I hope to post some new designs, old designs, instructions on how to sew with out patterns and step by step with pictures on current projects.

One response »

  1. love love the fort!! super cute!! you amaze me!!

    Reply

Leave a comment